MINUTES



Commissioner's Task Force on ESSER (II, and III) and EANS (I, and II) Distribution of Money – Friday, August 5, 2022

Call to Order

Chairman Porter called the meeting of the Commissioner's Task Force to order at 12:00 p.m. on Friday, August 5, 2022.

The meeting was conducted via video conference and was live streamed for the public to observe and listen.

Approval of Agenda

Bert Lewis made a motion to approve the agenda as presented for the August 5 meeting and Jason Winbolt seconded it. Motion carried (11-0).

Motion (00:13:12)

Attendance:

The following Task Force members attended by video conference:

Jim Porter Jason Winbolt
Janet Waugh Melissa Rooker
Simeon Russell Jamie Rumford
Lisa Peters Nick Compagnone
Roberta Lewis Frank Harwood
Tracy Callard Janet Eaton

Approval of July 8 Minutes

Jason Winbolt made a motion to approve the July 8 minutes and Janet Eaton seconded it. Motion carried (11-0).

ESSER II: Change Application Status Update - Doug Boline

Doug Boline started the meeting off by stating that there are 9 ESSER II change requests being reviewed in today's meeting and if approved, the change requests will be recommended to the State Board of Education for approval on Tuesday, August 9, 2022.

Motion (00:13:42)

(00:14:42)

The ESSER II change requests consist of 238 individual budgeted expenditures totaling a value of \$52 million.

(00:15:13)

ESSER II: Discussion of Change Requests Deemed Eligible by KSDE – Doug Boline

The eligible expenditures for the 9 ESSER II change requests totaled to \$52,339,703 (cumulative). The net change for the eligible requests total to \$982,874. Specific details regarding the batch of change requests can be found on the Commissioner's Task Force webpage located here - Commissioner's Task Force (ksde.org).

Vote to Recommend the ESSER II Change Requests Slate to Kansas State Board of Education – Doug Boline

Melissa Rooker made a motion to approve the 9 ESSER II change requests as presented. Tracy Callard seconded it. Motion carried (12-0).

Motion (00:17:34)

ESSER III: Summary & Discussion of Request Deemed Eligible by KSDE – Doug Boline

Doug Boline mentioned that the 16 districts represented in today's ESSER III application batch have requested \$72.1 million total (with \$71.7 million being considered as eligible; 80% of their total allocations). The average eligible expenditures (requested) per district (for this specific batch) range from \$167,639 to \$40,079,012; average amount per district is \$4,481,994. The eligible planned expenditures (for this batch) per student range from \$431 to \$3,329; average amount is \$1,328.

(00:18:02)

ESSER III: Summary and Discussion of Requests Deemed Ineligible by KSDE – Doug Boline

The KSDE review team deemed two requests as ineligible, both were submitted by USD 503 Parsons. USD 503 Parson's specific requests were for an intercom system for each instructor; and environmental sensors. The KSDE review team did not see the COVID-19 relation with these specific requests (this decision is reflective of the narrative the district provided for each request).

(00:20:31)

ESSER III: Discussion of Change Requests Deemed Eligible by KSDE – Doug Boline

The eligible expenditures for the 10 ESSER III change requests totaled to \$9,848,893 (cumulative). The net change for the eligible requests total to \$784,825. Specific details regarding the batch of change requests can be found on the Commissioner's Task Force webpage located here - Commissioner's Task Force (ksde.org).

(00:26:48)

Vote to Recommend the ESSER III Change Request Slate to Kansas State Board of Education – Doug Boline

Melissa Rooker made a motion to approve the ESSER III change requests. Lisa Peters seconded it. Motion carried (11-0).

Motion (00:29:00)

Vote to Recommend the ESSER III Application Slate to Kansas State Board of Education – Doug Boline

Melissa Rooker made a motion to approve the ESSER III applications. Jason Winbolt seconded it. Motion carried (10-1).

Motion (00:29:40)

Adjournment – Chairman Porter adjourned the meeting at 12:25 p.m. The next meeting will occur on Friday, September 9, 2022 at 3:00 p.m.